F+W Welcomes Teja

We have some exciting news here at Form+Works! At the beginning of May we welcomed a new member to our team, Teja Elam.

teja

We thought a fun way for everyone to get to know Teja would be a Q&A:

  • How did you find your way to architecture?
    I have a deep rooted interest in art and design growing from a childhood surrounded by appreciation and experience of the arts. The idea of pursuing work in design and architecture began in high school. After completing my B.F.A. with an emphasis in industrial design, I moved to Colorado to continue my goal of a Master of Architecture. I began working in architecture in 2004. I have been fortunate to work in many project sectors including: historic, commercial, religious, multi-family, and custom home design.
  • What about historic preservation resonates with you?
    Preservation provides reflection of the past, wraps us in story and supplies a center to grow from. It is this warmth that sparks my passion for preservation. 
  • What kind of hobbies do you have?
    I enjoy spending time with my family, running and figure-drawing.
  • What type of architecture inspires you?
    I am inspired by National Park Service Rustic architecture or “Parkitecture” and mid-century design.
  • What is your favorite place in the world?
    My favorite place is anywhere with family and friends. 
  • What are some of your goals?
    I would like to serve others through assisting in the preservation of our shared story.Teja graduated with her Master of Architecture from the University of Colorado with her Certificate in Historic Preservation. In addition to having just entered her 14th year working in architecture, she worked for the Park Service providing historic research at Rocky Mountain National Park. She shares our love of Colorado and our deep passion for historic buildings. We are so fortunate that she has chosen to join us. Next time you are in the area, be sure to stop in to say hello!

Leave a comment